Multi-factor authentication (MFA) is the process of authenticating an identity into a computing system, application or service by providing at least two of the following authentication factors:

  • What you know (password or secret key)
  • What you have (smart card or hardware token)
  • What you are (biometric data)

The following list provides the most common MFA factor implemented today by security companies:

  • Biometrics.
  • Magnetic stripe cards.
  • Security keys.
  • Security tokens/mobile devices.
  • One Time Password (OTP).
  • Challenge/response.
  • Smart cards.

Related Cloud terms